Critics’ Choice Awards 2018 Predictions

So I totally didn’t realize that the Critics’ Choice Awards were happening tonight, and so at the very last minute I am posting my very rushed predictions. I am going to keep my focus on the movie side of things, because if I tried to write about the television nominees I’d run out of time.

I should also add the caveat that I haven’t watched all the films nominated yet. I still need to see Call Me by Your Name, Lady Bird, The Florida Project, and a whole slew of others. So when I reveal my picks, this is mainly due to educated guessing, and going off on what people are saying online.

I don’t think I’ll get most of these right, but it’s always fun to play the guessing game which is awards season. On with my predictions!

Best Picture:

I feel that this will be a three horse race between Get OutCall Me by Your Name, and Lady Bird. When it came to the critics, I feel that these three were always mentioned as the films they loved collectively. The only film on this list I’ve seen is Get Out, and I think this will take it because of the sheer amount of love this received when this came out. And don’t let the love fool you, Get Out is a really solid film.

Winner: Get Out

Best Actor:

I think this another three horse race between Timothée Chalamet, Daniel Kaluuya, and Gary Oldman. From what I’ve gathered, I think that Chalamet will take it, although I wouldn’t be surprised if Kaluuya grabs a surprise win.

Winner: Timothée Chalamet

Best Actress:

This is probably the toughest category to predict. All the actresses had great films to showcase their talent (well, Meryl doesn’t need to prove anything more regarding her acting talent, right??). I feel like the favorite is Frances McDormand, and I’ll take her as the winner mainly as a guess. All of these performances should have an award.

Winner: Frances McDormand

Best Supporting Actor:

All I’ve been hearing is that Willem Dafoe is the hands-out favorite. I’ll pick him, but wouldn’t be surprised to see Armie Hammer win for his performance for Call Me by Your Name.

Winner: Willem Dafoe

Best Supporting Actress:

I think it’s between Allison Janney and Laurie Metcalf. It’s be nice to see Metcalf win for Lady Bird, but I think Janney is on a roll, especially after her Golden Globe win.

Winner: Allison Janney

Best Young Actor/Actress:

This should easily go to Brooklyn Prince for The Florida Project. Although I would like to see Dafne Keen steal it for Logan.

Winner: Brooklyn Prince

Best Acting Ensemble:

This one is hard for me to choose. I think this will be between The Post and Three Billboards. I’ll pick The Post because of it;s mega star talent.

Winner: The Post

Best Director:

All of the nominees deserve recognition, but I think the two favorites are between Greta Gerwig and Jordan Peele. I’m giving a surprise win to Greta Gerwig over Jordan Peele, because we need to talk about how many amazing women are making great films for everyone to see,

Winner Greta Gerwig

Best Original Screenplay:

This has to be between Get Out and The Shape of Water. I feel that Get Out is the favorite, and it will take home the cake tonight.

Winner: Jordan Peele for Get Out

Best Adapted Screenplay:

I feel that Aaron Sorkin will take this, but what if the team behind Wonder took the award in a surprise upset? I’ve heard great things about this film, and wouldn’t be surprised given it’s source material. I’ll pick Sorkin, though, because he is one of the greatest living today.

Winner: Aaron Sorkin for Molly’s Game

That’s it for the major awards. There are smaller awards I know I didn’t cover, but I don’t want to mention one:

Best Action Film:

If this doesn’t go to Baby Driver, then what the heck happened????

Winner: Baby Driver


 

This was all rushed together last minute, but I’ll be interested to see who ends up getting the major awards tonight. It sucks that the broadcast is delayed on the west coast, but I’ll be following twitter for updates.

 

Leave a comment