From Middle Earth to Superheroes?

According to TheOneRing.net’s twitter account, we might see Peter Jackson, director of The Lord of the Rings and Hobbit films, possibly explore new territory in the realm of superheroes:

Of course this is all speculation, but every once in a while it is always fun to ride along its waves.

I am a fan of Jackson. The Lord of the Rings trilogy were some of the first I saw at a young age and hold a special place in my heart. Over the years whenever a project involved Peter Jackson in any shape or form, I would be keen on seeing it.

When it was announced that Jackson would return to ultimately direct The Hobbit movies after Guillermo del Toro’s departure I was excited to jump back into his vision of Tolkien. Even though they may not have been as well polished as the Rings trilogy, I still enjoyed them nonetheless.

He still was able to bring to film a beloved story that many people had hoped for a long time, and that leaves me to think about this speculation from folks over at TheOneRing.

If Peter Jackson were to put his cap into the world of superheroes it would be something worth following. When he’s given a huge tentpole, I find that he creates a decent balance between character and spectacle. And when it comes to my enjoyment of the many more superhero movies to come, we need to see more of this balance.

I keep thinking about this clip from Film4 on YouTube:

He thinks of himself as an entertainer over artist. Take that how you will, but I for one don’t need the deep cutting drama of an award season film into a major blockbuster. If recent films like Thor: Ragnarok, Black Panther, and Wonder Woman have proven anything, it’s that a superhero movie can have good drama and conflict in its story while delivering on the promise of the genre. Peter Jackson can definitely deliver on that.

Whichever property Jackson decides to go with, I’ll  be in line to see what he and his team brings to the screen.

What are your thoughts on Peter Jackson making a superhero movie?

Leave a comment